Reaching The Social Recruiting Summit in NYC:


We had a full week. It started for me on Saturday when I packed up the family and we headed to NYC for a long weekend. We had a great time walking around the city and taking in the sites and of course getting my Crumbs’ fix (only went there twice in 2 days: not that bad!)

So while the family took in the sites and a movie I went down to the Comix Café and attended the #socialrecuiting summit, where Laurie Ruettimann was the MC for the day’s festivities. It was great to see all my friends I have connected with on Twitter and take in the presentations of the day.

We heard from Fred Wilson who owns a VC firm behind many companies like Twitter and Indeed. He discussed how they leverage social media in finding talent for their organization. What Fred likes about social media is how it extends your message to the masses. Fred talked about how the business world is moving more towards a “personal brand” people centric culture. We are entering an age where the individual’s brand at a company is almost as important as the company’s brand.

His final thought was to encourage us take 3 things that we learned from the conference and start doing them immediately… build on what we learn.

I am still in the process of putting together my list, but I definitely have started using different tools that were mentioned at the conference to help me track my data better.

I took part in a great discussion on how to leverage our knowledge about social media and how to pass along that information to the job seeker. That session was hosted by Carmen Hudson from Tweet A Job (by the way, love the product). It was mentioned in the session that we are truly all job seekers because if a fabulous opportunity landed in our laps right now, how many of us would be able to turn that down? I also enjoyed learning about all the great programs that Monster has in place helping job seekers embrace the tools that are available and helping them stand out from the crowd.

Then Susan Burns hit the stage. What impressed me about her presentation is how she related social media and how people feel about it now to how organizations felt about the internet and career pages in the late 90’s. This really hit home to me. I remember wanting the company that I worked for at the time to do more with the internet and to leverage it for the candidates. I remember listening to how sure they were that a candidate was not going to apply on-line. Look how things have changed!

Finally it was great to hear Jessica Lee present. She was one of the first recruiters that I started to follow on Twitter, I love reading her posts both on her Blog as well as on FOT. I enjoyed how Jessica shared the successes as well as the challenges of leveraging social media from a recruiting perspective. She also mentioned that when you use these tools, you are in the “fish bowl.” Be sure to choose your content and messaging wisely!

All in all, it was a great day. I got my cupcake fix in, and I was able to learn how others in the industry are taking advantage of the technologies available to us. I enjoyed learning from these people and also reveled in the fact that our willingness to be early adopters positions us for much greater success moving forward!

See you at the next one!

6 Responses

  1. I heard these are the best cupcakes. 🙂

    http://www.foodinmouth.com/restaurant-reviews/2008/03/snice-cupcakes.html

    Next time we’ll go on a hunt!

  2. Nice overview – you captured the excitement and value of the event. Made me sorry I wasn’t there!

  3. Great recap! I am working on the “three things” list suggested by Fred Wilson. He impressed me because, even though he is not a recruiter by profession, he is thinking of ways to leverage social media to improve the talent selection process.

    It was great to meet you in person at the Summit. Wish we had more time to chat. Thank you for the Tweetajob shout-out. We rely on forward-thinking recruiters like you to see the value in what we are doing. Thanks for hanging in there!

    Glad I found your blog!
    Carmen

    • Thanks Carmen for ckecking out the blog and for your great comments! I really like TweetAjob and look forward to using it within my toolkit! Really enjoyed meeting you at the Summit as well! Have a great Holiday week!

      Best –
      Chernee

Leave a Reply

