Are you smarter than a 5th Grader?

If any of you have a 5th grader you know that sometimes you feel lost when helping them with their homework, I know I do! I get told by my 5th grader, “where is Dad? He will know the answer”.
Last week, I had the opportunity to attend Career Day at my son’s school. Our son asked me to go, he said, “Mom, I want you to tell people about the Business”. Since I own my on organization, the business is part of everyone’s lives within our family.
I was nervous about going, would the children understand what Recruiting is and what I do? What I love about being a parent is that children constantly surprise you. It was a great morning; I totally enjoyed myself, and was very proud of the students that I spoke with that day.
They asked thought provoking questions, they were concerned about the economy and if people could find jobs. They asked me how it feels to tell someone that they did not get a job. They showed such compassion, which made me pleasantly surprised.
They were aware of social media, what twitter and Facebook were, only one student had their own page, but nearly everyone was aware of how people are using tools to communicate.
When I got home that evening, I asked my son how he thought I did, he goes “Mom, I did not know you were going to do a presentation, pretty cool.”
We forget that children really do understand what is going on around us, and see and understand concepts that we think they do not. They have great thoughts and ideas and I encourage you to speak with your children about what you do. I think you will be surprised by what you learn from them!

Leave a Reply

