All About Passion with @garyvee and Steve Jobs

Take a moment and think about what makes your heart race, or how you feel as the adrenalin surges though your body. It sure is an energizing feeling!

I have had many conversations with folks that are looking for their next job or have a pending offer, but the position or company does not get them excited. They tell me it’s a job. And since we are in a recession, they feel pressured to take the offer.

It’s a scary time, but I do feel that the market is turning and there are opportunities out there for folks. Yes, it takes more time. You have to really dig for the lead, but they do exist! For instance, the Wall Street Journal reported that New York City’s unemployment rate has decreased to 9.6% in a couple of months, below the nation’s average of 9.7%.

If you feel you are in this particular group of individuals, my advice to you would be that it is NOT in your best interest just to TAKE a job. Think about all the time and energy you have to put forth in learning a new role and understanding the company culture.  Is it worth it for an opportunity that does not excite you?  Is it worth all that trouble?

We, as a company, are reading the book, Crush It! by Gary Vaynerchuk (@garyvee). The theme Gary shares is that we all have a passion and a dream, and we need to live that dream at some point in our lives. If you have passion and are doing what you love to do, then success will follow! Gary lives by three rules:

  1. Love your family
  2. Work super hard
  3. Live your passion

Mr. Vaynerchuk realized his passion early in life by selling baseball cards, understanding the value on how to pitch a particular product and service. When he entered the family business, which was in the liquor industry, he again saw an opportunity to educate the consumer on wines. Within eight years, Gary’s business went from $4 million to $50 million in revenue. In the very beginning he worked while making minimum wage, but he loved what he was doing, and it paid off!

Last week on Twitter, a college sent out a tweet with the link to Steve Jobs commencement address in 2005 to the grads at Stanford University. It was one of the most moving speeches that I have ever heard! He was talking about his life, but more importantly about his true passion for what he loves to do- be an innovator. If he did not follow his heart and his dream, he would not be where he is today. He spoke about being fired from Apple, which was one of the best things that ever happened to him. It made him realize that he still loved what he did and that it was time to take a new direction. He stated that life is too short and that you never know what life has in store for you that day, so living your dream and doing what your are passionate about is what you need to do!

So we all don’t have to be the Steve Jobs of the world, or the Crush It! author – but we can follow our hearts! I know for me, I always wanted to own my own business. It started out in a yellow trailer in my parent’s yard when I was 5. It was called the “Wedding Day,” thinking that I would be a wedding planner. Instead my life took a different direction, and now I help companies and people make the right connection for their career and business goals, while remaining at the same level of passion as I did playing in the yellow trailer!

So when you are thinking about an offer, think about what makes your heart skip a beat. Would you get out of bed in a snow storm for this role? If not, wait for the position that will offer you that feeling!

At the end of Steve Job’s speech, he had a wish for all the graduates. It’s the same wish that I have for you…

”Stay hungry and Stay Foolish!”

What wonderful words to live by!

Photo credits to: On The Wine Trail in Italy and LonePlacebo

Post by Chernee Vitello, President of Whiting Consulting.

14 Responses

  1. Inspiring! I loved Crush It! It renewed my committment to follow my passion.

    I believe there is a “close to perfect” job out there right now for everyone. As long as they are willing to dig deep and acknowledge their passion. Know what it is you want to focus on, find an organization that is doing good things, be true to your values. This is the core of finding great work.

    There’s a saying, “he may not be Mr. Right, but he’s Mr. Right now”. A job is very similar to a relationship. Find some aspect of that less than perfect job that can really get you excited and viola.

    Wonderful post!

    • Thanks Hannah!

      Hope you had a great weekend. I really believe that they really is the perfect job for a person out there! They have to keep looking till they find it! Don’t take the first offer that comes your way if it does not feel right too you! To many times in life I think candidates do that and then are looking for a new position again!

      Have a great week!

      Best-
      Chernee

  2. Chernee,

    I love the Steve Jobs speech – together, my husband and I listened to it a couple of months ago, and were quite moved. We’re pragmatic ‘dreamers,’ so the message sunk in – Life, indeed, is short!

    Don’t awaken another day without thinking this day may be your last. Embrace each hour and every moment. Find laughter and joy – in fact, demand it of your day and surround yourself with positive energy and people.

    Though not every second of every day will be imbued with excitement or passion, we can aspire to be more fully enriched by our daily activities and contributions and look for that ‘heart skips a beat’ feeling more often. The result WILL be increased occurrences of satiation and pure joy, because you have set your heart and eyes on it.

    As Gary Vee did, it may mean taking a lower paying position to get to the end goal of the job of your dream. DO it! Find a way to achieve that (take on 2 low-paying jobs; freelance; be ‘me-inc;’ scale your expenses way day; be INNOVATIVE and ‘make it happen’). Settling is NOT an option in this land of opportunity and dreams fulfilled.

    Chernee, your childhood of dream of being a Wedding Planner and your current role as a Recruiter sound in sync, as both roles involve connecting people to a happy ‘ending’ of sorts; leveraging both your relationship building and connecting talents!

    Thank you for this meaty and thoughtful post – I may just have to watch that video again this weekend!

    Cheers,
    Jacqui

    • Jacqui –

      Thank you for taking the time to read the post and your great reply. Thinking of each day as your last really hit home to me within Steve’s speech. Not that everyday you want to do that, but you need to be happy and passionate about what you do in life! I think too ofter candidates get scared and take a job for the wrong reasons and then end up very unhappy in their work life, they really need to think about how they “feel” about the position before excepting a position.

      Thanks again and have a great day!

      Best –
      Chernee

  3. […] Whiting Consulting All About Passion with @garyvee and Steve Jobs […]

  4. Hi @JSkow1,

    Thanks for the invite to add to this discussion. While it is true that sometimes our dreams become sidetracked, I would never advocate “not taking the job”. You never know where jobs will lead you, as was the case for me and many of my friends who took internships and jobs during and right out of school which weren’t necessarily ideal.

    Through them, we’ve made connections and learned skills which propelled us into our future careers. The problem with GenY is our inability to settle down, our dissatisfaction and sense of entitlement, imbued upon us by our parents and years of “participation” trophies.

    I love my current position. I am exactly where I wanted to be and surrounded by additional opportunities. Did I “follow my passion”? Not entirely. I made smart choices, was incredibly fastidious, talked my way into a lot of things, and devote myself to learning each day.

    My best advice: Education is a life long process. Set clear goals if you want to achieve them. Never give up.
    It’s been proven time and again people who set goals go further than those who don’t. If your goals are simple, and that makes you happy then be satisfied.
    People like Steve Jobs though, are never satisifed with the status quo. The possibility of being better, is the mother of innovation.

    Herein lies the difference between a “passion” and a career. My friend’s dad is passionate about boats. When he looks at boats sees only enjoyment. When you can look at an industry and see the possibility of innovation, and know you are capable of that innovation, you know you have found your career.

    BTW, the economy is getting better, so chillax GenX!

    @kariobrien

    • @kariobrien,

      Thank you for your response! I am big on setting goals, especially if you want to head for your passion down the road. With GenY not wanting to be settled, as long as the generation keeps their long-term goals in mind and not stray too far away from where they want to go in their field- they can go anywhere.

      @Jskow1

  5. Julie (@JSkow1) invited me to discuss as well.

    I’m stuck in between a bit on this issue. Especially for graduates in NYC, it’s almost necessary to take a job when you can, even though it may not be a dream job. With a high cost of living, fast paced culture, and social pressures, a job offer with a good salary becomes incredibly appealing to a recent grad.

    On the other hand, friends, colleagues, and co-workers have Older co-workers repeatedly insist that I have it good because in the future, I will be able to select a career that is my passion, and in conversation, have said that I will be a superstar in my career if I follow my passion. One former co-worker, has demonstrated the struggles that can occur if a passion is not followed. Even with talent in the sales field, he has struggled to maintain a job, due to a disdain for it. Due to being unsure of what he really wants to do, he is stuck jumping between jobs, hoping to strike gold.

    In his speech, even Steve Jobs plays both sides of the argument. Although he has said that following his dream was the best thing he could do, some comments could be interpreted by either side. “Trusting that the dots will eventually connect,” could be interpreted by some as taking a job and hoping it grows into something you like, or waiting it out for the dream job.

    As a student graduating in less than 6 months, this dilemma may come up for me very soon. If it does, I do have 2 factors in my past that would influence my decision. As an immigrant to the country who received his education in his birth country, my father was unable to translate his degrees into practice here. Therefore, he was unable to follow his passion in the US and has been working jobs that he has a disdain for.

    On my own end, since graduating high school, I have been forced to work jobs that I have not had a passion for, to pay through college. With these experiences, I would take the path of following my passion. With money as a factor, I would slightly deviate from my passion, hoping that it can grow into something that I love. I would not, however, go with something I had no interest in, just for a paycheck. The past 4 years have shown me personally how hard it is to push yourself to success in that environment, and I would prefer to not go through the rest of my life this way.

    That ended up being pretty long!

    Andrew – @MOARdrew

    • @MOARdrew

      I agree that GenY is pressured from the economy to take any job to live comfortably. As a company, we do a lot of work in the NYC area, and with the percentage of jobs looking up in NYC, the opportunities are available.

      I completely understand your situation. For me, a chance of getting into my dream field (not position) happened right before graduation in May. Even though things didn’t turn out, I am completely happy where I am today. Things do turn out for the best in the end!

      @Jskow1

  6. Excellent article! Crush It is the book that inspired me to find my passion and try to start my own business.

    I graduated from college 2 years ago and have had very little luck finding the right job (or any job). My family has been very supportive of my online efforts which really helps me want to pursue my goals.

    The Steve Jobs video was very inspirational as well. I’m always looking for content like that to consume. You can find similar videos on TED.com, especially under the Best of the Web section.

    @Steve_Campbell

    • Thank you Steve!

      Crush It! is an inspiring book, and I’m glad you have decided to follow your passion! It’s nice to have a great example such as Steve Jobs as a wonderful role model in the business world.

      I will check out TED.com- thank you for the suggestion!

      @Jskow1

  7. This is a tough one!

    What’s cool is that we have an opportunity to do whatever it is that we are passionate and excited about. Really, no matter what it is…it’s possible to make a living off of it.

    I (respectfully) disagree with this: “My advice to you would be that it is NOT in your best interest just to TAKE a job. Think about all the time and energy you have to put forth in learning a new role and understanding the company culture. Is it worth it for an opportunity that does not excite you? Is it worth all that trouble?”

    I was in a job that I absolutely hated for nearly a year. It was tough waking up everyday and being excited to go to work. My opinion, having lived through it, is that it IS in your best interest to take a job, even if it’s not your dream job.

    Very few people’s dream job is an entry level position. Gen-Y has a lot of great things to offer, but in no way are we entitled to forgo entry level. If you are qualified and have the experience to contribute at a higher level, then yes the opportunity to take more responsibility should be presented.

    I guess I have two points:

    1) If you keep waiting for or even proactively chasing your dream job, it just may just not be feasible given your experience. Now you are really digging yourself into a hole by being unemployed for a significant period of time and not gaining valuable real-world experience.

    2) You’re in your twenties. You’re a young adult. That means you have responsibilities. Loans, bills, rent, etc., etc. Take care of those responsibilities. This is such a developmental time in your life. Don’t hinder your ability to develop by retreating back to your parent’s protective umbrella. You’re young. Take risks. Live big. That requires having an income. Don’t miss out on this opportunity because you’re waiting for something. Work you’re way there.

    • Thanks for your opinion Tyler!

      A job without passion for it, is a great opportunity still to continue building knowledge and gaining more ground in a particular field. I just hope people always don’t go for the jobs which they don’t have a passion for, but only to gain more experience and keep employed.

      GenY might not get their dream job until after 40, which is completely fine! But GenY should make smart decisions and the necessary steps towards aiming for that passion. I always say, everything happens for a reason and turn out for the best in the end!

      I had a possible opportunity in the past to be right on track with my dream career right after graduation! I had to think about the consequences too for it, but realized I would’ve ended up miserable if I was always traveling so far to that job everyday. In the end, things turned out differently than expected, and I’m so happy where I am today that I don’t feel sad at all for not getting that job, even though that was the path to my dream career. Funny how things work out!

      @Jskow1

  8. […] All About Passion with @garyvee and Steve Jobs […]

Leave a Reply

