The Importance of Setting Personal Goals

With all the hustle and bustle of our daily jobs, it might be easy to forget about the importance of setting personal goals.

Chernee’s recent post about the value of taking time away from stress falls right into this category. Just a couple of weeks ago, I was running my second half-marathon in Disney World. I have been a competitive swimmer the majority of my life, and I always hated running until a few years ago. But now, I use running as my “de-stressor” and use it as a healthy goal for myself. Something to keep me busy at home 🙂 .

In my second half-marathon, I took 30 minutes off my previous time… quite an accomplishment! The night before the race, I was thinking about eight things that could go gone wrong during the race, but I never let my goal of finishing and earning that crown medal out of my sight! Even when I was at mile nine, I briefly hyperventilated and was about to collapse do to joint pain in my legs! But I kept pushing alongside my sister, who checked up on me every few seconds.

Embracing your determination for the end result is priceless.

I knew that after crossing that finish line would be a feeling like no other! A common phrase, but so true… just remember that you can do anything you put your mind to! Personal goals help you thrive mentally and physically, and they keep your mind in tune with yourself. Goal setting also keeps your heart happy and healthy!

Post written by Julie Skowronek, Marketing Coordinator at Whiting Consulting.

Leave a Reply

